Go to National Library of New Zealand Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa Go to Te Ao Hou homepage
No. 71 (1973)
– 31 –

Picture icon

Peter Hill and Jean Albert, representatives of Ngati Poneke, receiving the Apirana Trophy from Dame Te Atairangikaahu.


The Wellington Competitions Society was honoured to welcome Dame Te Atairangi-kaahu as their guest on opening night. For several years now, the competitions have begun with ‘Maori night’, and the local people were delighted that the evening should have as its highlight a welcome to the Arikinui.

Following competition between nine cultural teams and four choirs, Dame Te Atairangikaahu was officially welcomed by Wellington's Mayor, Sir Francis Kitts, and Mr Pat Shields, President of the Competitions Society, and then presented trophies to the winning teams. Overall winner and runner-up were Ngati Poneke and Te Kahui Rangatahi, who went on to represent the Wellington area at the first National Polynesian Festival in Rotorua.

Picture icon

After being welcomed by the Mayor of Wellington, Sir Francis Kitts, Mr Fred Katene, and Mr P. Shields, President of the Wellington Competitions Society, Dame Te Atairangikaahu replies.