Go to National Library of New Zealand Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa Go to Te Ao Hou homepage
No. 48 (September 1964)
– 41 –


Recently ‘Te Ao Hou’ asked secretaries of Maori clubs to send in information concerning their group, so that details of clubs could be published in the magazine.

Here are the first of the replies we received. Information about other clubs will be published in subsequent issues.

Everyone who wrote in said that they are always very glad indeed to welcome new members, Maori or Pakeha, whether experienced in Maori culture or not. Although many clubs are associated with churches, readers will see that in nearly all of them, membership is open to people of all denominations.

Several writers pointed out that it is not correct to describe these clubs as ‘youth clubs’, for in nearly every case they have many older members also.

Saint Faith's Youth Club

Although this club is associated with St Faith's Anglican Church, Ohinemutu, membership is open to all people interested in the furtherance of Maoritanga, irrespective of religious denomination or race. At present there are 50 members.

Activities include fund-raising concerts for many different charitable bodies and organisations, including St Faith's Church.

The club's activities often involve travel to other centres in different parts of the country. Its members compete in the annual Anglican Hui Topu, as well as in other competitions, and they have done a lot of work for overseas and local film and TV companies.

Meetings are held every Tuesday night at 7 p.m. in the meeting house ‘Te Aomarama’ at Ohinemutu.

Secretary: Mr D. Hicks, P.O. Box 527, Rotorua.

President: Mr O. L. Cairns, 33 Robinson Avenue, Holdens Bay, Rotorua.

W.E.A. Maori Club

This is a social club for people who are interested in all aspects of Maori culture, and who have attended the classes in the Maori language which are organised during the winter by the Christchurch W.E.A. The majority of members are Pakeha, though some are Maori. Of the eight members of the Committee, four are Maori. The Club has no religious or political affiliations. Members are taught action songs, poi, stick games, tukutuku, and kowhaiwhai under the guidance of several wellknown Maori personalities, including Miss Weno Tahiwi, Mr K. Whaanga and Mr and Mrs H. Toka.

Activities have included visiting and performing at a number of maraes, including Taumutu, Tuahiwi and Little River. It has close ties with other Maori organisations in Christchurch, and at the end of last year, members of the Club held a social evening to which other Maori clubs were invited; this proved to be an overwhelming success.

The Club has given donations to the Maori Education Foundation, to the local Marae Committee, and to funds connected with the W.E.A.

Meetings are held on the second and fourth Fridays of every month at 8 p.m. at the W.E.A. Centre, 59 Gloucester Street, Christchurch. President: Mr L. Royal, Department of Maori Affairs.

Secretary: Mrs Ethel Walters, 47 Matipo Street, Christchurch.

The Wellington Anglican Maori Club

Although this club bears the name of a religious denomination, it is open to anyone, irrespective of tribe, nationality or creed. There is no subscription fee and no age barrier.

Members learn such items as the poi, haka, waiata Maori, patere, oratory in Maori, choral singing and other Maori items. The club assists charitable institutions and frequently gives public performances free of charge to assist such organisations as schools and churches. Last year it assisted, among many others, the Salvation Army, the Presbyterian Church, the local Dickens Group, the Rotary Club, the United Nations Club, and the Colombo Plan Students Association. Among its activities so far this year are a welcome to Mr Ian Hunter, Director-General of the Commonwealth Society and another to celebrate the Golden Jubilee of the Mangaroa School.

At the time of writing the club has over a hundred members. Among its members are a number of Pakehas and also a number of Colombo Plan Students. The President of the University International Club is an active member and he encourages overseas students to attend Club practices in order that they may

– 42 –

acquire something of our culture before their return to their own countries.

The Maori Purposes Fund Board, recognising the work that the Club has done, recently made a grant of £100 to the Club's piupiu and uniform fund, and the Club has 60 piupius on order.

Meetings are held every Wednesday evening at Ngati-Poneke Hall, Lambton Quay, Wellington. From 7.30 p.m. to 8.15 p.m. there is a special class for learners, and from 8.15 p.m. to 10.15 p.m. the whole Club takes part.

Patron: Mr J. K. Hunn, Secretary of Defence.

President: The Rev. K. M. Ihaka.

Secretary: Mr Noel Cameron.

Leaders: Mr Don T. Manunui for boys, and Miss Colleen Whakatutu for girls.

Ataahua Methodist Maori Youth Club

Although this club is associated with the Methodist Church, membership is open to all people, irrespective of religious denomination or race, who have a genuine interest in Maori Culture.

The Club provides concerts for charitable organisations and occasionally accepts contracts

for conventions, socials or visiting tourist liners. Weekend trips away have been on the increase this year, and more emphasis is to be placed on competition work in the future. At present there are 40 members. Annual subscription is 10/-.

A 20–25 page magazine is produced quarterly, and contains notes, opinions and articles on Club activities and on Maoritanga in general.

Meetings are held every Monday evening in the Methodist Maori Mission Centre, 8 Airdale Street, Auckland, C.1, opposite the Town Hall.

President: Mr Taima Ngarimu.

Maori Culture Leader: Mr Napi Walker.

Address for correspondence:

The Methodist Maori Mission, 8 Airdale Street, Auckland, C.1. (Telephone 20–981.)

Bulls Anglican Maori Club

This club, which was formed two years ago, is open to everyone, regardless of religious denomination, race or age. The club takes part, on request, in any organised functions held in the district.

Practice nights are held once a week in the local hall; there are also other activities, such as ping pong. There is a senior and a junior group, each with about 25 members.

President: Trevor Hammond, Fagan Street, Bulls.

Te Haraweihana Maori Youth Club
Te Araroa
East Cape

The 30 members of this club belong to the Salvation Army. Meetings are held every fortnight at Te Araroa, and activities include action songs, hikes, socials and lessons in such things as first aid.

During the last couple of years, the Club's trips away from home have included two visits to Wellington and one to Opotiki.

Secretary: Captain Sam Medland (Kapene Hamuera Meterana), Te Araroa.

A message to secretaries of Maori clubs: if your club has not yet sent in details of its activities, please send us a note so that readers can know about you. Te Ao Hou's address is: P.O. Box 2390. Wellington.


A new Maori community hall has been opened in Marton. Named ‘Kotahitanga’, it is the result of many years of fund-raising efforts by the Maori people of the Marton district.