Go to National Library of New Zealand Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa Go to Te Ao Hou homepage
No. 42 (March 1963)
– 49 –

Discussions Afterwards

The morning session was one of three held during the day and was followed in the afternoon by a discussion among parents on the kinds of equipment to add to the already good supply; and how by setting out the room and having more parents carry out a programme of study of children at play, the children could benefit even more.

In the evening a social-discussion raised the burning questions of the best way to live and work in the family for the welfare of all—and enjoy it.

Sponsored by the Regional Council of Adult Education, Auckland University, organised by the Mangakino Play Centre, this day programme proved good fun and experience for us all.


The twenty candidates who gained highest marks in the English section of the Government Maori Scholarship examinations have been awarded £10 merit awards by the Maori Education Foundation. The award winners are—

Hiraina Lambert, Papanui Junction School, Taihape; Audrey Murray, Punaruku Maori District High School, Northland; Nihipora Kereama. Tawera Maori School, Whakatane; Rebecca Heperi, Rahiri Maori School, Northland; Waima Nathan, Pouto School, Dargaville; Tu Williams, Whangaparaoa Maori School, East Coast; Colin Leaf, Waimamaku Maori School, Northland; Robert Shadrock, Makomako School, Waikato; Morgan Solomon, Waikatea School, Wairoa; Eruera Koopu, Toa Toa School, Bay of Plenty; Brenda Mauriohooho, Arohena School, Te Awamutu; Judith Witere, Opoutere Maori School, Waihi; Moera Kingi, Poroti School, Whangarei; Valerie Thompson, Punaruku Maori District High School, Northland; Richard Ngata, Ormond School, Poverty Bay; Roderick Wharepapa, Opoutere Maori School, Waihi; Leonard Walker, East Cape School, East Coast; Henrietta Ngata, Mangatuna Maori School, East Coast; Ngaronoa Hadfield, Waimamaku Maori School, Northland; Emma Henare, Whakaangiangi Maori School, East Coast.

Picture icon

Children and parents at the thriving Play Centre at Mangakino.