Go to National Library of New Zealand Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa Go to Te Ao Hou homepage
No. 26 (March 1959)
– 14 –


In order to foster the teaching of the Maori language, the Minister of Education, the Hon. P. O. S. Skoglund, has established a committee to advise the Department of Education on how the language should be taught in schools. It will also study the problem of providing suitable textbooks for use in post-primary schools, make recommendations on the content and form of such textbooks and assist in assembling and preparing for publication Maori literature for use in the schools.

Dr K. J. Sheen, senior inspector of post-primary schools, Wellington, is chairman; the members are: Mr H. R. Waititi, St Stephen's College, Bombay, Auckland; Mr S. M. Mead, head-teacher at Waimarama Maori School, Hawkes Bay; Dr B. G. Biggs, lecturer in Maori Studies, Auckland University; Mrs E. B. Ranapia, Correspondence School, Wellington, and Mr W. T. Ngata, secretary of the Maori Purposes Fund Board, Wellington.