Go to National Library of New Zealand Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa Go to Te Ao Hou homepage
No. 13 (December 1955)
– 51 –

The following list contains the names of all boards dealt with by the Act.

Aorangi (At present there is no board, only trustees) Descendants of former owners of Aorangi Block.
Arawa Members of Arawa Tribe and descendants.
Aupouri Members of Aupouri Tribe and descendants.
Ngatahu Members of Ngatahu Tribe and descendants, as defined by Court.
Tainui Members of Tainui Tribes and descendants.
Taitokerau Members of Ngati Whatua. Nga Puhi, Te Rarawa, Ngati Kahu and Te Aupouri Tribes and descendants.
Taranaki Members of Atiawa, Ngati Tama, Ngati Mutunga, Ngati Maru, Ngati Ruanui, Ngaruahine, Taranaki and Ngarauru Tribes and descendants.
Tuwharetoa Members of Tuwharetoa Tribe and descendants.
Wairoa Members of Ngatikahunguna Tribe residing in Wairoa County.
Whakatohea Members of Whakatohea Tribe and descendants.

* * *

Twenty-five dairy farms and eight sheep farms will be established on Tuaropaki development scheme, a 21,629 acre block at Mokai, fifty miles from Rotorua, of which 3000 acres have now been stocked. In 1951 the owners approached the Department of Maori Affairs to have their lands developed and public expenditure on the land now totals £132,500.