Go to National Library of New Zealand Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa Go to Te Ao Hou homepage
No. 13 (December 1955)
– 48 –



Janie Maxwell, of Auckland, has become a double All Black in two highly competitive major sports.

Miss Maxwell figured in these columns last year when she won a place in the New Zealand Women's Indoor Basketball team. She was again selected for the New Zealand side this year and at the same time has been chosen for the New Zealand Women's Hockey team which will tour Australia.

May Smith, of Auckland, has once again won a place in the New Zealand Women's Indoor Basketball team.

May Smith is an outstanding basketballer and although it is not done to mention women's ages, one must make the point that Mrs Smith has daughters playing in the Akarana team with her.

She provides a fine example of the fitness which one needs to succeed in this fast game and as I have said in another article, she has a technique superior to anyone else in New Zealand.

Miss T. Evans, of Auckland, was champion in two age grades at the New Zealand Table Tennis championships.

Bill Gray, Pat Walsh, Keith Davis, Tony Katene, Tiny Hill and Doug Hemi have all won places in the 1955 All Blacks.

L. Raureti proved to be the “find” of the New Zealand Colts Rugby side which toured Ceylon with such conspicuous success.

Rangi Wallace, of Wellington, was chosen for the New Zealand Indoor Basketball Reps.

South Island Basketball:

The South Island Maori Basketball Tournament was held this year at Temuka where the Arowhenua people played host to some 400 guests from Marlborough to the Bluff.

The occasion was a big one for Temuka who turned on a Mayoral reception in the Citizens' Hall which was preceded by a parade of teams lead by the Temuka Pipe Band.

Main honours went to the Christchurch teams, Otautahi and Christchurch Community Centre. Otautahi won the Pitama Cup and the Senior section and the Community Centre won the Junior section and took the Croft Rose Bowl.

The following were selected as the South Island team, following the tournament: Forwards, S. Vincent (Otautahi), M. Mako (Community Centre), A. Stevens (Huirapa), J. Hutana (Rapaki); Centres, S. Heath (Community Centre), P. Kamo (Youth Club), N. Edwards (Otakou), M. Anglem (Huirapa); Defence, M. Henry (Huirapa), G. McColgan (Huirapa), S. Hunt (Rata), C. Hammitt (Otautahi).